June 2019

Team Mossop wins EBL Open Teams

Congratulations to Team Mossop on their gold medal win at the European Open Champions in the Open Teams in Istanbul, Turkey.

The team is made up of Edward Jones, Thomas Paske, Justin Hackett, Alexander Hydes, David Mossop and Jason Hackett (pictured left to right).

They are the first English team to win a major event at the European Open Championships. They beat the Netherlands Blue team (Danny Molenaar, Berend Van den Bos, Joris Van Lankveld, Tim Verbeek, Ton Bakkeren (cp)) in the final, which saw Mossop take the lead with a very strong third set, and hold on to win by 48 IMPs. The bronze medals went to Rushka (Poland/Russia) and Texan Aces (USA/India/Israel).

2019 European Open Championships

The 9th European Open Championships, which took place in Istanbul, Turkey, over the course of two weeks, has now concluded.

A thrilling final day saw the lead change hands several times before the allocation of the final set of medals was decided.

Congratulations to Team Mossop on winning the Open Teams competition. The team was made up of Jason Hackett, Justin Hackett, Alexander Hydes, Edward Jones, David Mossop and Thomas Paske (picture).

David Gold (England) and Richard Mark Plackett (Wales) finished second in the Jean-Paul Meyer I Pairs, just behind first placed French pair Baptiste Combescure and Cédric Lorenzini. Gunnar Hallberg (England) and Frederic Wrang (Sweden) finished third in the same event.

England also had success winning bronze in both the Women's and Senior's teams events. Team Desadima (Sally Brock, Barbara Drinovec Drnovsek (Slovenia), Marusa Gold, Susanna Gross, Diana Nettleton and Debbie Sandford) won bronze in the Women's Teams and team Penfold (John Holland, David Kendrick, Sandra Penfold, Norman Selway and Brian Senior) won bronze in the Seniors Team event.

Funbridge Updates

We are pleased to announce a change of format to the Funbridge games.

At present the games take place every Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday, but from 1st July they will take place on every day of the year, with Monday and Friday games being scored by IMPs. Another innovation starting next month is that all games will run until midnight - midnight (24 hours).

You don't have to play all the boards in one go, so you could play some over breakfast, some in the afternoon, and the final few before you go to bed.

In addition, starting in July, there will be two handicap prizes for the players whose scores exceed their NGS by the greatest amount. Only players whose NGS is public will be eligible and it will be based on their grade at the time of the first game they play in the month.

For more information and to download the app, see the Funbridge FAQs

Andrew Thompson (1949 - 2019)

We were saddened to learn of the death of Andrew Thompson, former tournament player who also represented England.

He played in the Junior Camrose in 1973 and 1975 and was selected for the Seniors in Beijing in 2008 but did not play.

He will be sadly missed and we send our condolences to his family.

Andrew’s funeral will be at 14:30 on Tuesday 23rd July at Telford Crematorium, Woodhouse Lane, Red Hill, Telford, Shropshire TF2 9NJ and after at the Swan Inn, 4 Lower Bar, Newport, Shropshire, TF10 7BQ.

Sally Brock inducted to EBL Hall of Fame

image of Sally Brock, EBL President Jan Kamras and EBL E.C. member Jafet Ólafsson (receiving the award on Jon Baldursson's behalf)At a ceremony which took place at the European Open Championships, in Istanbul, Turkey, Sally Brock was inducted into the EBL Hall of Fame.

Sally has played in the European Championships 14 times for Great Britain and England's Women's Team, getting 1st place on five occasions. She has also won numerous other medals, including gold in the Venice Cup and Women's World Olympiad twice.

Sally joins two other English players, Nicola Smith and John Holland, who were recognised and inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2017.

The Hall of Fame was established to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the formation EBL, and recognises notable contributions by individuals. Alongside Sally, this year the EBL also recognised Iceland’s Jon Baldursson.

Gerard Faulkner Salver Entries Extended to 24th June

Applications to enter the 2019/2020 Gerard Faulkner Salver have been extended and will now close at 12 noon on Monday 24 June, but due to the format of the competition it will not be possible to accept late entries once the draw has been done.

Introduced in 2002, the Seniors Knockout Teams for the Gerard Faulkner Salver has proved to be very popular event. It is open to teams consisting of four to six players, all of whom are EBU members born in 1958 or earlier.

The event is played as a knockout throughout, with matches played privately. Matches prior to the semi-finals will be played over 32 boards, the semi-finals 40 boards, and the final 48 boards. Matches in the early stages will be arranged so as to avoid long journeys wherever possible. There is a repechage round for first round losers, so all non-seeded teams are guaranteed at least two matches.

The entry fee is £79 per team. The easiest way to enter is online through My EBU. You can also call 01296 317203/19, email comps@ebu.co.uk.

Leicestershire wins at Inter-County Leagues finals

The National Finals of the Inter-County Leagues took place at Coventry Bridge Club on Sunday 16th June.

Congratulations to Leicestershire who won the 'A' final for the first time since their victory in the inaugural event in 2007.

Oxfordshire and Hertfordshire retained their ‘B’ and 'C' Division titles, making it four times in succession for Hertfordshire.

Pictured are the Leicestershire team (Simon Stokes, Nick Stevens, Ian Bruce, Dick Pathan, Jim Mason, Colin Dean, Duncan Happer, Ben Norton)

EBED Teacher’s Conference

This weekend saw the return of the EBED Teacher’s Conference, held this year in Milton Keynes.

Based on feedback received from the 2017 Teachers Convention, the theme for the event was Recruitment and Advertising where the weekend was full of talks, case studies, presentations, workshops and Q&A sessions.

The highlight of the weekend was the inaugural EBED Teacher of the Year Award which was given by EBED Chairman Andy Margetts to Chris Lohan (pictured), much deserved for her hard work and dedication. Video of the award presentation.

Cheltenham wins Garden Cities Trophy

Cheltenham BC (Gloucestershire) has won the Garden Cities Trophy, the competition for each county's 'teams-of-eight champions'.

The final featured the eight teams which qualified from the Regional Finals which took place in April, and Cheltenham finished in first with 86 VPs. Avenue BC (Sussex) was second with 81 VPs, and last year's winners Tunbridge Wells BC (Kent) was third with 77 VPs.

The winning Cheltenham team was Val Constable, Judith Sanis, Patrick Shields, Richard Chamberlain, Tony Letts, Ben Ritacca, Allan Sanis and Paul Denning.