Kent team wins National Point-a-Board; joint-winners in Swiss teams

The team of Alistair Kent (Channel Islands), Kevin Castner, David Gold (London) and Justin Hackett (Staffs & Shrops) have won the Point-a-Board event at the National Teams Congress. They topped their qualifying section, and then went on to win the final with a score of 53. The team of Jeremy Dhondy (Middlesex), Brian Callaghan, Ben Green (both London) and John Holland (Manchester) were second on 49, with Frances Hinden, Jeffrey Allerton, Graham Osborne (all Surrey) and Chris Jagger (Cambs & Hunts) third on 46.

The victory in the competition takes David Gold in to first place in the Player of the Year Championship, and he holds a six point lead. There are six events remaining, so there are many points still to be won. The next event in which points will be awarded is the Guardian Trophy - the main pairs event at the Easter Festival in London.

In the Swiss Teams event, which ran alongside the Point-a-Board event, there were joint winners. The team of Steve Root, Jonathan Harris, Steve Capal & Andrew Sobell (all Middlesex), finished on 160 VPs, tied with the team of Dave Latchem (Wiltshire), Sheila Coda, Rod Marks and Bill Rowe (all Somerset). The Root team took the title by virtue of the split-tie procedure. The team of Andrew Southwell, Richard Fedrick (both Sussex), Ian Roberts and Alan Oddie (both Bedfordshire) were third on 159 VPs.