Hackett team wins NEC Cup

The team of Jason Hackett, Brian Senior, John Holland and Gunner Hallberg has won the prestigious NEC Cup in Yokohama, Japan. They overcame a deficit at the halfway point to beat the team of David Bakhshi, David Gold, and Dutch pair Ricco van Prooijen, Louk Verhees, in the almost-all-English final.

Another English team - that of Frances Hinden, Graham Osborne, Alex Hydes and Mike Bell - were defeated in the semifinal by the Hackett team.