Mossop team wins Crockfords Cup; Ransley team wins Plate

The team of David Mossop, Alex Hydes (London), Jason Hackett, Justin Hackett (both Staffs & Shrops), David Price (Suffolk) & Colin Simpson (Berks & Bucks) have won the 2015-16 Crockfords Cup. All the team have won this competition three times or more, with Alex retaining the trophy he won last year with different teammates; the other five all won the 2013-14 competition together.

The competition is played as knockout with the final eight teams playing an all-play-all final. The Mossop team finished just 2 VPs ahead of the team captained by Alexander Allfrey (Middlesex) - David Bakhshi, Mike Bell (both London) and Tony Forrester (Herefordshire) played with him in the finals and Andrew Robson and David Gold (both London) played in earlier rounds. Finishing in third place was the team of Brian Senior, Sandra Penfold (both Yorkshire), Nevena Senior, Tom Paske (both Middlesex) & Ed Jones (Oxfordshire).

The Plate competition, for those knocked out of the Cup in the early rounds, was won by Brian Ransley (Sussex), Michael Davis, Ben Ritacca (both Middlesex) & Brian McGuire (London), plus John Wilmott (London) who played in earlier rounds (see photo here). They finished 4 VPs ahead of Uday Hegde, Jerry Cope (both Middlesex), Alan Kay, Francis Morton & David Walker (all Hertfordshire) - Anthony Golding (Hertfordshire) played for this team in earlier rounds.