Byrne team wins Hubert Phillips Bowl

Fiona Brown, Ollie Burgess, Michael Byrne & Hugh McGann have won the Hubert Phillips Bowl, the EBU's knockout mixed pivot team competition.

They beat Jeff Smith, Jackie Pye, Alan Mould & John Holland in the final on Sunday 25th June.

The match was hosted by Manchester Bridge Club, with over 30 kibitzers in attendance, including 5 of the players who, the previous day, had won the Garden Cities Trophy.

This was a first time win for all of the victors - of the 8 players only John had previously won the event (6 times between 1983 and 1996).