Patterson wins Gold Cup

Congratulations to the Patterson team - Derek Patterson, Willie Whittaker, Andrew Black, Gunnar Hallberg, Phil King and Andrew McIntosh - who have won the 2016/17 BGB Gold Cup. They had an interesting series of matches, winning their Quarter-Final against Hackett by 1 IMP, then their Semi-Final against Allfrey by 1 IMP, and finally the Final against Brock by ... 127 IMPs!

The losing finalists were Sally Brock, Neil Rosen, Barry Myers, Martin Jones, Norman Selway and Kay Preddy (photo), who had beaten Reardon by 33 IMPs on Saturday. The finals were held at the Young Chelsea Bridge Club in London.