Smith & Wilson, and Solomon team, win at Riviera Congress

The EBU's month at the seaside started this weekend with the Riviera Congress in Torquay.

The Swiss Teams was won by Warner Solomon, Alex Maddocks, Bill Taylor & Robert Miller, with 105 VPs from seven matches. They are pictured receiving the Wing Trophy from donor David Wing. Rob Lawy, Andrew Thompson, Jim Grant & Stefan Lindfors, finished second, 7 VPs behind. Tim Chanter, Helen Wildsmith, Graham Pollack & Andrew Whittome were third. The 'non-expert' prize was won by Martin Baker, Dave Strawbridge, Norman Botton & Ian Dalrymple, who finished fifth.

The Swiss Pairs was won by Janet Smith & Alan Wilson (see picture here). They finished level with Rob Lawy & Andrew Thompson on 162 VPs after 12 matches, but took the title by virtue of victory in the head-to-head match. There was also a tie for third place between Dan McIntosh & Tim Gauld, and Diane Kurbalija & Filip Kurbalija, who finished on 155 VPs. The 'B' Stratification prize was won by Stuart Bridge & Roger Karn, who finished 14th. The C Stratification prize was a tie between Bill Luscombe & George Delafield and Hanna Tuus & India Leeming.