Allfrey team narrowly retains Premier League title

Alexander Allfrey, Mike Bell, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Graham Osborne and Andrew Robson have retained the Premier League title, with four of the team winning the competition for the sixth time in eight years.

They did it the hard way, however, coming from behind on the final weekend, and needing a large victory in the final match to secure the title by only 1.12 VPs.

The long time leaders of the competition, Janet de Botton, David Bakhshi, Espen Erichsen, Glyn Liggins, Artur Malinowski & Tom Townsend finished second, with the Small team in third.

By virtue of their victory, the Allfrey team will receive an invitation to represent England in one weekend of the Camrose Trophy.

The Premier League is part of the series of competitions contributing to the Player of the Year Championship - the Allfrey team are all now in joint second, with Glyn Liggins moving in to top spot on his own after being runner-up in this event, and winning the Gold Cup.

In the Second Division, Patrick Shields, Richard Chamberlain, John Atthey & Garry Watson (see picture here) won with a match still to play. The Mossop team (David Mossop, Jason Hackett, Justin Hackett, Alex Hydes, Ed Jones, Tom Paske) defeated the champions in the final match to take second place.

The runaway leaders of the Third Division - James Thrower, Ali Ahmed, Petar Ivanov, Todor Tiholov & Fiona Brown (see picture here) - completed their emphatic victory, finishing over 29 VPs ahead of David Muller, Qian Li, Trevor Matthews, Tony Ye & Richard Bowdery.