Shashou and Sandqvist win Championship Pairs

Nathalie Shashou and Nick Sandqvist (pictured) won the main pairs event at the Spring Bank Holiday Congress in Stratford. Their score of 55% was just enough to push Dinah Caplan and Michael Byrne into second place with a score of 54.25%. Phil King and Kevin Castner were third with 53.44%.

The B Final in the Championship Pairs was won by Robin Wright and Alan Wilson (picture) on 57.14%, ahead of second place Simon Cope and Diana Nettleton with 54.68%. Eric Cummings and Ceri Pierce finished third with 54.44%.

The teams event was won by David Gold, Catherine Seale, Phil King and Kevin Castner (picture), with the Solomon team in second and the Hearst team in third. The winners of the B stratification teams final were Mary Johnson, Michael Mahoney, Richard Smith and Jonathan Hughes (picture).

Those not reaching the A or B Final, or joining the Congress on the second day, contested a Swiss Pairs which was won by Todor Tiholov and James Thrower (picture), with Waseem Naqvi and Ben Ritacca in second.