Allfrey Team Wins Gold Cup

The prestigious Gold Cup, organised by Bridge Great Britain, has been won by Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Mike Bell, Tony Forrester, Graham Osborne & David Gold (pictured).

They defeated Simon Gillis, Odin Svendsen, Hugh McGann, Tom Hanlon, Glyn Liggins and Espen Erichsen (pictured here) by 24 IMPs in the final. The defeated semi-finalists were the Brock and Senior teams.

The Gold Cup provided the first scores in the EBU's Player of the Year Championship, with the Allfrey team taking an early lead. The next scoring event is the Two Star Pairs at the Autumn Festival.