Contributions to bridge Recognised at AGM

The EBU presented awards in recognition of various members' contributions to bridge in England at the AGM in London yesterday.

  • Gold Award, for outstanding contribution to the management/administration of the game at national and/or international level - Jeremy Dhondy (picture)
  • Silver Award, for outstanding contribution and recognition of long service as a volunteer at national and/or County level - Steve Barnfield (Picture from presentation in March 2019)
  • Tony Priday Award, for an outstanding contribution to bridge and enhancing the game in all its aspects - John Magee (Mr Bridge) (picture)
  • Diamond Award, for excellence over a sustained period for England's international teams - John Holland (picture from previous presentation), and Robert Sheehan (picture)
  • Dimmie Fleming Award, recognising a long and valuable contribution to county bridge - Bernie Hunt, Essex*; Austin Barnes, Lancashire*; Liz Stevenson, Merseyside & Cheshire (picture); Paul Wilson, Middlesex (picture); Maureen Kimbley, Norfolk*; Sheila Coda, Somerset*; Shirley Pritchard, Surrey (picture); Phil Bennett, Wiltshire*; Janet Latham, Yorkshire (picture)
  • Tom Bradley Award, given to a non-serving school teacher who has made a significant contribution to junior bridge - Giorgio Provenza, Surrey*
  • Alec Salisbury Award, given to a school teachers who have made a significant contribution to youth bridge - Rowena White, Fulford School, York (picture)

* - presentations to be made at another time

Congratulations to all recipients, and we thank them for their contribution.

The Young Player and Young Pair of the Year awards had been previously presented. These recognise outstanding performance for England's Junior teams and were made to Oscar Selby and Ben Norton & Shahzaad Natt.