Prior team wins online knockout

The Online Knockout Teams competition has been won by Michael Prior, Michael Hampton, Norman Selway & Kay Preddy. They beat the team of Paula Leslie, Samantha Punch, Liz McGowan & Fiona McQuaker by 47 IMPs in the final.

The 2019 competition will start in the new year with entries opening soon.

Dean Swallow claims second monthly Funbridge title

Dean Swallow has won the monthly competition for the EBU games on Funbridge for the second time, this time with a record score. His best four results in the month averaged 68.69% - the highest by anyone in the monthly competition to date.

A new competition for September is underway, with four chances to play each week - Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. There are cash prizes for the top five performers in the month, but also Master Points to be won in each game, plus the fun of competing against the other participants. For more details, see the FAQ page.

BBO operators needed

In order to provide coverage on Bridge Base Online of forthcoming competitions, we need more operators - those who sit at the table and watch, and click the relevant bids and cards as the play progresses so it appears online.

No previous experience is needed - it isn't hard and you can be shown what to do - and a contribution to your expenses at a rate of 80p per board is given.

Operators are needed for competitions at various times during the year in London and the West Midlands (including international trials, the Camrose Trophy, the Premier League, the Crockfords Cup, and Schapiro Spring Foursomes).

If you are willing to help, please contact for more details.

Jagger team wins Crockfords Cup

The Crockfords Cup - England's premier knockout teams competition - has been won by the team of Julian Wightwick, Jon Cooke, Ian Pagan, Paul Barden, Chris Jagger & Jonathan Mestel (the latter two playing in the early rounds). The eight-team all-play-all final was closely contested, with five teams losing no more than two matches each, but the Jagger team emerged victorious. They scored 89 VPs, with the De Botton team (Janet de Botton, David Bakhshi, Tom Townsend, Artur Malinowski, Thor Erik Hoftaniska & Dror Padon) in second on 83, and the Byrne team on 79 VPs.

The Plate competition, for those losing in the early stages of the Cup competition, was won by Stephen Green, Nick Smith, Alan Wilson & Roger Bryant (picture) - Graham Link also played for the team in earlier rounds of the competition. They finished the all-play-all final with 90 VPs, with the Milman team in second with 83 VPs.

The entries for the 2018-19 competition are now open, and close on Monday 17th September.


Subscribe to English Bridge Union RSS