Law 28, Calls considered to be in rotation

Law 28B reads as follows:

'A call is considered to be in rotation when made by a player whose turn it was to call before rectification has been assessed for a call out of rotation by an opponent. Making such a call forfeits the right to rectification for the call out of rotation. THE AUCTION PROCEEDS AS THOUGH THE OPPONENT HAD NOT CALLED AT THAT TURN.'

What does the last sentence mean?

Let's say it is South's turn to call, while he is thinking West calls out of turn, then South, not noticing West's call, makes his call.

The Law is silent about West's call having to be withdrawn and Law 16C being applicable, as other laws do.

How do we proceed as if West 'had not called at that turn'? Simply have him withdraw the call and replace it with a legal call? Or treat it as a legal call provided it is not an insufficient call? No application of 16C?

????

Comments

  • I think you have not read the whole of it. It is explicit that L16C2 applies but L26 (lead penalties) does not.

  • The last sentence of Law 28B was added in 2017. As Gordon points out, this sentence answers questions that were not answered in the previous law book.

  • edited July 28

    Also, of course, it prevents the player whose turn it was to call, inadvertently making an insufficient bid.

    North opens 1 Spade, South bid 3 Spades and then East bids 2 Clubs. (not having seen the 3S COOT).

  • @BarkerBridgeTD said:
    The last sentence of Law 28B was added in 2017. As Gordon points out, this sentence answers questions that were not answered in the previous law book.

    Good advice to anyone wanting to ask questions of the laws is to check first of all that they are using the current ones!

  • @gordonrainsford said:

    @BarkerBridgeTD said:
    The last sentence of Law 28B was added in 2017. As Gordon points out, this sentence answers questions that were not answered in the previous law book.

    Good advice to anyone wanting to ask questions of the laws is to check first of all that they are using the current ones!

    Touche!

Sign In or Register to comment.