Office closed Friday 21st December until 2nd January

The EBU office will be closed from 5pm on Friday 21st December for the Christmas period, re-opening on Wednesday 2nd January. Any emails or telephone messages will be answered as soon as possible after the office re-opens.

Don't forget that orders for the Bridge Warehouse can always be placed online at and competition entries can be made via My EBU, and items will be dispatched when we re-open in the New Year.

Competitions: If you wish to enter one of the Year End Congresses in London or Blackpool please do so online through the members area of the website. You can also enter at the venue in London.

Extra online games over Christmas and New Year

This Christmas again sees online games on on all public holidays with Funbridge, including an extra one on Boxing Day.

Whether you're already an avid Funbridge player, or a first timer, Christmas is a great time to play, as there will also be a free game on New Year's Day.

As always, games will start at midnight, and you can play at any time up until 10pm, stopping and starting as often as you like - so you should be able to fit it in around any festivities.

If you are spending time with any bridge playing friends or family over the holiday period, then do encourage them to have a go and have some friendly competition among yourselves. The free New Year's Day game is an ideal opportunity for them to see if they enjoy Funbridge.

Remember there are two ladder competitions, and plenty of chances to win a cash prize this month, with ten games remaining. Check out your current standings.

If you like online bridge games, you may also enjoy our 2019 EBU Online Knockout. Entries are now open (closing on 14th January). It is for teams of four (from a squad of up to six), all of whom must be members of the 'home union' federations - so tell your friends in all corners of the British Isles.

Channel Trophy 2018

This weekend sees the 2018 Channel Trophy taking place in Lille, France (14-16 December).

The event sees three England teams facing strong competition from France, Belgium and The Netherlands.

Round 1 starts on Friday evening, with events scheduled to conclude by Sunday lunchtime. Follow all the action on the Channel Trophy Website and Bridge Base Online

The England Teams are as follows:

Under 26s (Juniors):

Under 26 Women (Girls):

Under 21s (Youngsters):

Good luck to all those taking part.

Membership Campaign Update

Since joining in September, Membership Development Officer Tim Anderson has been hard at work setting up the new EBU Membership Development Campaign Website, a permanent link to which has been added to our home page.

Included as part of the website will be regular blog posts looking at ways to expand membership in your area.

Read the first blog post titled 'Promoting bridge in your area with a dedicated web site', here.

The website also has some great resources for membership campaigns and case studies from clubs that have run successful campaigns.

Hinden Team Wins Mixed Team Trials

This weekend saw the semi-final and the final of the trials to represent England in the European Mixed Teams Championships.

The final was been won by the team of Frances Hinden, Graham Osborne, Sally Brock, Barry Myers, Michael Byrne & Fiona Brown (pictured). They won their semi-final, against the Sinclair team, and the final, against the Seale team who had earlier beaten the Bell team to reach the final, with both of the Hinden team’s matches being conceded after 48 of the scheduled 64 boards played.

The European Mixed Teams Championships will take place in Lisbon, February 2019.

December issue of English Bridge out now

The December 2018 issue of English Bridge is out now and will be delivered to eligible members in the next few days.

The online version, which contains extra content, is available to members via My EBU (once you have logged in use the 'Magazine' link in the top right corner of the My EBU webpage). More information on accessing and using the online version is available here.

Welwyn Garden City win NICKO Plate

The NICKO Plate - the 'consolation' competition for teams losing in the early rounds of the National Inter Club Knock Out - has been won by Welwyn Garden City E.

The Welwyn Garden City E team (pictured, from left to right – Jonathan Osgood, Sally Bennett, Simon Mostyn, Piers Fuller) won by 19 IMPs (106-87) in a tight match against British Rail A.

In addition to the players pictured, Anthony Golding and Francis Morton played for the Welwyn Garden City E in earlier rounds of the competition.

British Rail were well represented by Roger Mallinson (capt), David Marshall, Mary Marshall and Andy Wells. Congratulations to all involved.

Free places on Club Teacher Training Courses available in 2019

We are pleased to announce that, in conjunction with English Bridge Education & Development, free places on Club Teacher Training Courses are being reintroduced in 2019.

These courses, which are run by EBED, are intended to enable members with a motivation to help bring more players in to the game - and specifically in to their club - to run lessons.

A list of the courses which are currently available, can be seen on the EBED website. It is intended that more will be added in due course. Information on how affiliated clubs can apply to attend the course at no cost is also available on the EBED site.

Please help by supplying your date of birth

The EBU is working hard to get more people joining clubs and playing bridge, and has begun working with various counties on membership campaigns. In order for these to be most effective we need accurate data on the current membership, but presently we have an age recorded for under a third of our members.

Some people want to keep this private, which is fine, but often it is just a matter of this optional field not having been completed when the member record was created. You can help us to get a clearer picture of current bridge-playing demographics, and therefore help us to help you all, by providing us with your date of birth.

You can easily do this by logging in to My EBU, going to Account and then My Details, and entering your date of birth if it's empty.

Please be assured that the information won’t be used for external marketing or shared with other organisations other than in aggregated form as part of our overall membership statistics. It is not visible to other EBU members.

Subscribe to Front page feed