dummy's revoke

dummy cannot revoke! declarer plays a H and sees none in dummy so trumps. Later in the game, when another suit is played eg say a D, a H appears in dummy - stuck under the D. Defenders call director and request a trick adjustment - how would you rule taking into account that declarer made extra tricks after the revoke?
Suggest check results end of session and apply an adjusted score?
elizabeth

Comments

  • edited August 20

    @Sheba977 said:
    dummy cannot revoke!

    Not true! Dummies do revoke but they are not subject to automatic penalties for doing so; redress is given under Law 64C if the revoke causes damage.

    declarer plays a H and sees none in dummy so trumps. Later in the game, when another suit is played eg say a D, a H appears in dummy - stuck under the D. Defenders call director and request a trick adjustment - how would you rule taking into account that declarer made extra tricks after the revoke?
    Suggest check results end of session and apply an adjusted score?
    elizabeth

    Don't base the adjustment on what happened at other tables, where the play may well have been different in significant matters. Analyse the play and determine what would have happened without the revoke. Give the non-offending side the benefit of any doubt. If necessary give a weighted ruliing.

  • Bear in mind that play prior to the revoke might also have been affected by defenders seeing a void in dummy. Note that Law 41D specifies how dummy should be laid out and deviation from this can lead to defenders being disadvantaged in the play.

  • edited August 20

    There are two items in the White Book: the general situation of defenders being "misinformed" about dummy's holding (WB 8.41.4,: Law 12A1), and the specific case of dummy revoking (WB 8.64.5: Law 64C1).

  • this piece was posted on a local club's site by an upcoming TD who claimed that dummy cannot revoke. Gordon makes it quite clear that dummy can revoke. I thought it would be of interest to other TD's and myself of course.
    many thanks for all the responses.

Sign In or Register to comment.