Help with ruling after a misbid
My (new) partner and I play Benji Acol (weak 2's in majors, 2D is big bid, 2C is strong 2). However, my partner also plays a system with 3 weak 2's with other people.
In a recent match, this happened.....
She opened 2D, which I alerted
The opponents asked and I said it was an Acol 2C opener, game forcing
I responded 2NT (8-10 points and flat distribution)
She passed and 2NT was the final contract, making
It turned out that she intended 2D to be a weak 2 and clearly, my explanation alerted her to the fact that she had made a mistake. In response to a weak 2D, then the 2NT response is an enquiry and shouldn't be passed!
What should the ruling be?