EBUScore - Recovery when Update Movement pressed erroneously

Since starting using EBU Score 6 months ago we have had 2 events where the scorer erroneously pressed the Update Movement button in Bridgemate scoring. Whilst EBUScore and the BWS file retain the results the Bridgemates and Bridgemate server discard the results subsequent to Round 1 and ask for results from round 2. On both occasions we have completed the evening with paper travellers as the way of getting the Bridgemates to the proper round was not clear. I have subsequently worked out that we can get the Bridgemates and server working again by recovering the data from the Bridgemate Control Software .BWS file to the Bridgemate server. Go into BCS/Session/Synchronise/Recover and then select Recover Server and say yes to two or three warnings. You may also need to Read all Results in Bridgemate Scoring once all results have been entered in the Bridgemates.

I have warned our scorers of the dangers of the Update Movement button but I wonder if the Update Movement select round window could be set to default to the current round rather than Round 2

Comments

  • Hi Stan, is this in Swiss events? I presume so as in non-Swiss events you would only rarely be using the Update Movement button. Jonathan

  • No - it was a normal pairs event and the button was pushed erroneously by a not very computer literate scorer who was trying to get the scrolling screen updating again.

  • I'm not surprised.
    I have over fifty experience working with computers but EBUScore frightens me. Nothing about it is user friendly.

    Alan

  • No - it was a normal pairs event and the button was pushed erroneously by a not very computer literate scorer who was trying to get the scrolling screen updating again.

    In this case would the results still be in the Bridgemates? Would it work to go round the room and 'Resend Results' from each of the Bridgemates in turn?

  • @Robin_BarkerTD said:

    No - it was a normal pairs event and the button was pushed erroneously by a not very computer literate scorer who was trying to get the scrolling screen updating again.

    In this case would the results still be in the Bridgemates? Would it work to go round the room and 'Resend Results' from each of the Bridgemates in turn?

    No that does not work Robin, the only data left in the server and the Bridgemates is Round 1.

  • @Robin_BarkerTD said:

    No - it was a normal pairs event and the button was pushed erroneously by a not very computer literate scorer who was trying to get the scrolling screen updating again.

    In this case would the results still be in the Bridgemates? Would it work to go round the room and 'Resend Results' from each of the Bridgemates in turn?

    I suspect that the server does still have the data (recoverability has always been a strong design feature for the BridgeMate ecosystem), and the BridgeMates might do too, but they certainly behave as though they do not for the user. It's most definitely not trivial to find out for sure, and other than in a controlled test, I would not want to be needing to find out!

    Part of that controlled test would most likely be trying to do an "Update Movement" for a much later round after having "accidentally" done so for an early round.

  • As I mentioned you can recover by BCS/Session/Synchronise/Recover and then select Recover Server and say yes to two or three warnings. You may also need to Read all Results in Bridgemate Scoring once all results have been entered in the Bridgemates.
  • Oh yes, I saw that - I am familiar with use of "Recover Server". But I also know that doing so is moving well beyond the comfort zone of many scorers, let alone ones who are not overly computer-literate in the first place.

  • We have drifted away a bit, I wasn't asking for a way of fixing the issue once it occurred but suggesting that having the Update Movement button default to the current round might avoid others having the issue.

  • I might be wrong here, but (re)starting the movement from the current round removes already entered scores from the current round which could be just as frustrating, compared to moving to the next round which will prevent players from completing their results from the current round. At my club, we have no paper scorecards so your suggestion would have the effect of permanently losing those scores if we did press that button in error. The "update movement" button is primarily used if there are latecomers that may lead to a removed sitout or some sort of rover movement.

    Going back to your original point though, I've never had an issue with pressing that button in error, particularly since there's no reason to touch EBUScore once the movement has started (other than to enter unknown player names)... there wouldn't be much demand to change what I consider to be a well designed and easy to use program.

  • As Stan rightly explains, the Update has not affected the data already received in EBUScore (and the database (bws) file is intact).
    The Synchronise/Recover is actioned directly through BCS (‘Session’; Synchronise/Recover’; ‘Recovery’). This procedure reads the results and the movement data from the .bws file in BCS and sends to the server to bring it in-line with BCS. The Bridgemates are then able to show the current situation as held on the server. (This process can synchronise the other way round –but not relevant for simple events). The detailed BCS procedure is:-
    Click ‘Recover Server’.
    Answer ‘Yes’ to ‘...are you sure you want to recover the server’
    Answer ‘Yes’ to ‘...are you sure you want to reset the server’
    Enter the security number as requested
    Click ‘Close’ on the pop-up box

    The suggestion to correlate the Update Round is reasonable, though the same mishap can still happen and the BCS will request all the results from the update round. I suppose we could put an 'Are you absolutely sure...' further warning with the button as it is probably never used in IS and TS, and it only applies in PS to rare situations where you remove/add a round, forget the arrowswitch, or add a late table....

Sign In or Register to comment.