Comparable call - was I right?
Opening 1S bid out of turn when his partner was dealer. After I had explained the options, the next player declined to accept the bid. The out of turn bid was cancelled and his partner opened 1C. I was asked whether a 1S response would be a comparable call and I said no because he had shown opening values. He then asked whether 2S would be a comparable call (strong) and I said that it would because although the 1S might have been a minimum opener it could well have been up to, say, 19 HCP. I said that the opener would have to treat the 2S as game forcing and bid accordingly.
The offender then called 2S and the auction continued. I wasn't called back so I don't know the outcome.
Was my ruling correct?