weejonnie

About

Username
weejonnie
Joined
Visits
2,123
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • a) Players can bid what they like - it is what the agreement is that is important. Provided there have been no previous indications that this player will open 2NT on such a hand then there is no problem. The call should not be penalised as there is …
  • @16248 said: It's hard to see why declarer would wave the card around without an intention to play. I would also consider a procedural penalty for Dummy. Well my well-thumbed section Law 42 states: A. Absolute Rights 1. Dummy is entit…
  • Well the fact that people could see the card is relevant only if the defender does this (Law 45C1)- so we have to look at Law 45C2 Declarer is deemed to have played a card from his hand if it is: (a) held face up, touching or nearly touching the …
  • @ais523 said: I can imagine that there are some partnerships where 5!C wouldn't be interpreted as strong/forcing. In that case it's probably a logical alternative to 5. (In particular, if the jump is non-forcing, the choice-of-suits followup p…
  • Oh I agree that the EBU should do its best for all its members and I agree with your points, whether they are corrected is of course not up to me. Having become a club TD, I hope you continue to hone your skills and become more confident in the more…
  • OK - I assume that in the first situation you would prefer the EBU just note that you award an artificial adjusted score if the OS get more than 40% - and you may award a procedural penalty - usually 25% for repeat offences after having been found o…
  • Well it doesn't work like that. If they have no agreement then the other side must be informed of the fact. This is made clear by the EBU as well as the new wording to law 75. I agree that if the have an agreement that 2H is natural then there is no…
  • Yes I know that was a problem - but was considering the ruling per se, rather than the circumstances that led to it. (I did suggest that a PP should be issued to both sides for breach of the laws regarding the calling of the TD in this situation: th…
  • Last night a player unfortunately suffered a panic attack on the penultimate round and couldn't play the second board or the last round. (They seemed to have recovered somewhat after the end of the session and the director to them home). Out of the …
  • In some respects it depends on whether South is an 'experienced player'. White book 8.40.5 "It is only experienced players who are expected to protect themselves. If such players receive an explanation which is implausible, and they are able to pro…
  • The converse also applies- if you lose one match heavily (no matter how - no doubt it was your partner or teammates) then you don't have any chance to recover - so what's the point of playing on - other than for the 0.25 greens?
  • I was told many moons ago that a swiss should have two more rounds than that suggested by log2(n). otherwise you may as well play a knockout and consolation. The point being that the best players get to play more of the other good players to prove …
  • The hand is fine as a Benji 2C opener - it has 8 playing tricks with diamonds as trumps. The only time a hand has to be strong is if the suit is clubs. The Blue book IIRC (and I do!) states that if the high card strength of the benji bid may be les…
  • The score for the offending side is whatever the TD thinks should have happened without the infraction. e.g. There is a case of hesitation Blackwood - offending side bid the slam, opponents double (deemed to be gambling - which could be quite likel…
  • Is there an easy way to review the movement set up i.e, equivalent to the summary screen before you confirm it. Sometimes I forget if I have set the AS round and would like to check without leaving the event.
  • @Vlad said: Where an alert requirement is not listed in the regulations, is it not proper to follow the general principle (whether stated in the regulations or not) that any bid that does not mean what it says, i.e. is natural, should be alert…
  • Totally unenforceable - mind you if you always sort your cards in a specific order then partner may be able to deduce your hand pattern from the position whence the opening lead came. Maybe the RA could give some guideline what they regard as permis…
  • Note that the adjustment may be different in cases b) and c). Law 75D3 or somewhere thereabouts.
  • @Peter said: I asked cos I'm prepping for the County TD course and was looking at panel td exam 2007. Needed to clarify one of the answers and Gordon's reply helped. Good luck - but just remember that the answers given may now be incorrect g…
  • Well you certainly don't have to acknowledge your break in tempo - but you should be prepared to accept that opponents may draw attention to it - and that such drawing of attention isn't contrary to the spirit of the game.
  • (a) if the insufficient bid is corrected by the lowest sufficient bid which specifies the same denomination(s) as that specified by the withdrawn call, the auction proceeds without further rectification. Laws 26B and 16C do not apply but see D fo…
  • All calls are gambles. You gamble that by making the call you will get to a better contract than if you make another. One tactic I use: if partner overbids several times and forces the opponents to game - I double no matter what I hold, my argument…
  • This is how I think I would apply it. Team A weren't disadvantaged by the irregularity and so keep the result of the gambling action. As for team B - there is no score adjustment for their irregularity - since no damage exists. So they keep their -…
  • @michael said: @Robin_BarkerTD said: @michael said: I'm trying to think of another game or sport where players are not allowed to find out the rules of the game they're playing while they're playing it. …
  • @Sheba977 said: The things players do!!! I visited a club to partner a friend recently. Hard to believe but when playing at one table, an opponent pulled out a cheat sheet before making a bid. 'I don't think you are allowed to do that" &am…
  • There was a comment i read many years back where everone was playing SAYC - and yes they could refer to their opponents' convention card. Mind you - you do this at your own risk! If they did refer to their cc and opponents raised a query.then I th…
  • @AlanB said: So it shouldn't be used since an opponent wont know what it means? Using losing trick count seems a better and clearer way of defining a hand. The appropriate EBU guidelines are in the Blue Book "5 A 3 A partnership may define…
  • The net effect is the same -but it is not clear whether you mean "Can he check to see what values he needs to bid/ double by agreement" or whether you mean "What is the penalty for 3 down doubled vulnerable. It is NOT unauthorised information. The …
  • Over a year since I used Scorebridge. i think all you can do is to enter the possible contracts in turn and get the matchpoints (by using "End/ Save Board") once all the other results are entered, then work out the final percentage as above that eac…
  • @AlanB said: The trouble is that "playing tricks" doesn't have a definition. No it doesn't - but that is mainly a problem for their partner. If they want to define a bid inaccurately so that they don't know how high to bid then that is their…