weejonnie

About

Username
weejonnie
Joined
Visits
795
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • East bids 4H (which is their agreement) and surprisingly hears his partner alert and, when asked, his call is explained as a transfer. Obviously he has UI. However he has AI that partner bid 1NT - which is a pretty limited bid, and thus a) It is obv…
  • I think there is a big difference between trying to get the best score under the current (legal) auction, and then claiming for damage because the auction was illegal, and taking a gambling action hoping to gain redress if it fails. Who knows - the …
  • Ask South if he has read "Winning suit contract leads" by Bird and Anthias. In MPs, leading Aces against suit slams is the big winner. And I would be adjusting the contract to 3CXX - 7 by South. (Or at least 3CX - 7). Why can't North hold East's ha…
  • I think the UI suggests that partner has no wasted values in hearts. which makes 3 Spades much more attractive. With e.g. QJ doubleton in hearts he would have passed in tempo. Why can';t he hold: S: JXX H: QJ D . AJXX C: KJXX (In which case 3 …
  • Shoul East Alert? : Answer No: Blue Book 4G2. Opponents are only entitled to know your partnership agreements. If East Alerts then opponents may think that West is showing a 4-card major. What should E do if opponents ask about the 3D bid? Explain …
  • Note that under the laws of bridge you can't ban natural psyches. The RA (The club in this case) can ban psyches of artificial calls. 40B2v
    in Psyches Comment by weejonnie October 18
  • As a final point - consider law 11 A. Action by Non‐Offending Side The right to rectification of an irregularity may be forfeited if either member of the non‐offending side takes any action before summoning the Director. If a side has gained thro…
  • So as I said, since East led clubs then either South said "Lead anything", or else the card should have been picked up. Can you clarify what East was told at that point when he led a club? (If South said 'Lead anything' presumably East must not have…
  • (My very first post was based partly on the assumption that the OP thought they had a 'major' AND a 'minor' penalty card - such of course being impossible. It was on re-reading that I sought to clear up the possibilities)
  • This seems incorrect - holding a minor penalty card the rules are: 50C Disposition of Minor Penalty Card When a defender has a minor penalty card, he may not play any other card of the same suit below the rank of an honour until he has first pla…
  • Our (Benji) 2C opener is "a hand where game may be missed if opened at the one level". Is this allowed? @JeremyChild said You may describe your hand in any readily understandable form. The problem only occurs when you have an agreement that…
  • 2.8.3.3 Illegal method, fielding of psyche or deviation If a contestant uses a method that is not permitted, or is adjudged to have fielded a psyche or deviation then the deal should be completed. If they attain a score of AVE− or less then the sco…
  • There is another case when the Ace of Trumps can fail to take a trick - it occurs if a player does not play a card to a trick and this is discovered after both sides have played to the next trick (law 67B). Note that this is deemed to be a revoke an…
  • @Hollyblue said: Ref the new rules concerning Acol 2C opening bids. 12pts + 5 controls or 16+ or 23+ A partnership is describing their 2C opening bid as possibly any of these options. Opponents and partner have no idea. …
  • Better still - use up some calories, reach over and play the card from dummy.
  • I would hope that if someone says (honestly) "undiscussed" they would try and give similar situations where they do have an agreement, or "about relevant alternative calls available that were not made" in that position of the auction.
  • There is no definition of 'playing tricks', as there was with 'clear-cut' tricks. My suggestion would be that the person expects to make 8 tricks against the most common distributions found at the table, since usually hands of sufficient playing str…
  • This is the hand https://ebu.co.uk/sim-pairs/000286/boards/9 Opponents reach 6 !H at our table for a bad score. - at least partner had the sense to cash the Ace of Diamonds (after I had shown Spades/ Diamonds in the auction) I think comments above…
  • You can certainly lead to the next trick before a trick is completed - in fact there is a law to cover this. However the player's intent is not to lead to the next trick. I agree with myslef that the 1st card is accepted as the lead and the 2nd a MP…
  • Even if the offender intended to make a second lead, the law does not allow it to be classified as such - only if we regard it as a lead to the next trick. This was not simultaneous though was it - and that law is normally aimed at covering pulling…
  • The first card has been led in the normal course of play so is not a MPC. (Law 49). The second card has not been led out of turn if you regard it as being led to this trick - so I don't think law 53A applies. (I may be wrong of course), so I am temp…
  • This is a can of worms - especially as if dummy is a better player he may know (through getting the count of the hand) that a lower card will win the trick, than declarer knows. The law does not state 'who' knows who will win the trick. (Unless ther…
  • If the first card was a misspull couldn't it be a minor penalty card initially - under 50B? In which case there is no further rectification except that is stays there etc...
  • Not in the EBU - an alert is adequate. The laws state that the RA is responsible for deciding which and how calls that may have a specific meaning can be drawn to the attention of the opponents. In EBU events (other than no-fear/ beginners) I think…
  • I always wonder at the "beyond carelss or inferior" argument. Unless this has been defined (and the word 'irrational' has now been removed from the laws - if indeed it applied in this position), then any play other than the 'correct' one is by defin…
  • There is nothing in the laws about the methodology of providing information to the opponents about calls - other than 40B2a The RA . (iii) may prescribe alerting procedures and/or other methods of disclosure of a partnership’s methods. So it is …
  • I suppose the announcement should be "Weak to strong non-forcing", if the meaning of 'strong' in announcing 2-level contracts is the same as the EBU definition of 'strong'. (WBF allow any 13+ hand to be described as 'strong').
  • Initially it seems unfair BUT the law 27 states A. Acceptance of Insufficient Bid 1. Any insufficient bid may be accepted (treated as legal) at the option of offender’s LHO. It is accepted if that player calls. It should also be noted that IF th…
  • @Martin said: Interestingly... due to a poor memory i NEVER lead small from x gap x due the amount of times i lost tricks by forgetting that, say, the 5 is still out there when i have the 6 and 4! If I put this on my card and informat…
  • Dura lex sed lex. It would also have been a good opportunity to educate the lady as to why they should make a comprehensive statement and state the order in which they play the cards.