TawVale

About

Username
TawVale
Joined
Visits
703
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Taking those two hands as a brilliant pair to ask about 1C Dbl, "round here" I was told that the first double (on AQxx 9xx 10x AQxx) is "for take-out". "What does take-out mean?" I ask. "It means I have an opening hand and some clubs and if partner …
  • If West know that N/S play this 3C bid as two-suited with Spades and Diamonds, then (s)he is not allowed to ask what 3C means. The double of the cypher 3C bid then shows Clubs.
  • P.S. the above comment was not intended to be critical of congress TDs who I regard highly.
  • Two things - one is that at the Green point events I have attended (played) the TD team always allow far too much time (e.g. an hour for eight boards), that is probably why you haven't felt time pressure at a congress. Second thing - if there were …
  • @Tag said: As a defender, when declarer says "any", I always select the card I wish him to play and opponents, especially Dummy, get upset when you exercise your right ...
  • I have copied and edited the first part of your statement to illustrate our experience..."We have recently changed treasurer for the Club. The previous treasurer obtained the mandates to be completed from the bank. We completed them and showed them …
  • With most of my Benji partners, we play that the sequence 2C-2D-2Maj is forcing for one round. With the two who do not regard the sequence as forcing, my Convention Card starts off … "Modified Benjaminised Acol" and we explain the modification to …
  • It is traditional, at this point, for Declarer to thank Dummy and, for the purposes of tradition, "thank you".
    in Law 41D Comment by TawVale August 10
  • I know it and I use it and I value and appreciate it. No-one else at the club of which I am thinking would have the slightest interest in discussing the finer points of law; they feel that understanding the law is the TD's job, not theirs.
  • Thanks (Tag) for the pointer to 8.87.1, it would have taken ages for me to find it. Gordon, you really must get out more. Failing to arrow switch is very frequent and, as mentioned above, the Committee decided (erroneously it now appears) to insti…
  • Is it legal, when the club scorer has become fed up with people forgetting to arrowswitch when instructed so to do by TD and bridgemates, for the committee to announce, at AGM, that any future arrowswitch failures will simply be scored as 40%-40% (a…
  • @Martin said: I'm sure that I heard that a good player (international) used to tell partner (dummy) if the contract was gonna make or be good by the way in which he said thank you. Something like, "thanks partner" for oh dear, this looks …
    in Law 41D Comment by TawVale August 7
  • On a slight tangent to this, whenever I am declarer, if I'm happy with the contract, I try to make an unnecessary peter when playing Dummy's cards; this puts Partner at ease. Do the laws prohibit my doing this?
    in Law 41D Comment by TawVale August 7
  • I used to live in Harrogate (hence the contact) and I used to have a Facebook page (until GDPR). If you have access to Facebook (or a friend who does), you'll find a Harrogate Bridge Club page. This, in itself is not necessarily pulling them in but…
    in Publicity Comment by TawVale July 1
  • There is, on the Bridge Club Live comments board, a discussion as to whether 1H - NB - 4H should be alerted if it specifically denies a splinter, no void, no Ace - just a pre-emptive response like ♠T6 ♥QT652 ♦QT9 ♣Q63. Is this something that would "…
  • Yes, we use Bridge Tabs at both Caen and Braunton bridge clubs and have done so for a couple of months. The advantages include ... no-one has to decipher all those scribbled entries on the traveller … you don't have to work out the score for 2D dbl…
    in BridgeTabs Comment by TawVale June 21
  • I think it is normal to double with 13 cards in this situation. Having 8 or 9 points and 4-card Hearts is a slight bonus that can help justify your action. Seriously, though, I rarely accept an opponent's reservation of rights, preferring to call …
    in BIT Comment by TawVale June 12
  • It makes me so sad that this happens. Even more so because LHO was the (playing) TD that evening. Apparently, they had earlier agreed "strong tens"; LHO had selected the S10 to lead against my 3NT until she remembered the agreement, hence the change…
  • On the one occasion that I did call the TD for this (frequent) deviation, he asked me "and how have you been damaged?" My response that I had been irritated by it and this had distracted me from my usual immaculate, accurate bidding and play was was…
  • But, as examples go, it does represent the validity of the EBU's attempts to prevent innocent (timid ... naive ... whatever) folk being put off by "a Benji 2C is a strong bid" because, as I wrote above, 3 of the 11 tables played 4S (making) by West.…
    in 2C opener Comment by TawVale June 2
  • @ais523 said: I remember reading somewhere (I thought it was the White Book but it isn't, I checked) that partnerships are assumed by default not to have any agreement about how to bid a double void, and thus that bidding 2 in this circumstanc…
    in 2C opener Comment by TawVale June 2
  • Just out of interest, more than a quarter of the room (3 of 11 tables) played in 4S by West (I gave the South hand).
    in 2C opener Comment by TawVale June 2
  • With apologies to those who also read the Bridge Club Live comments forum where we have already had a discussion on this, last Tuesday, I shuffled and dealt within the laws and produced this wonder: S - H AK98xxx D - C KQJTxx Just 13 points and…
    in 2C opener Comment by TawVale June 2
  • @Martin said: everyone seems to double in the same way - doubles of suits are for take out, doubles of conventional bids show that suit... Martin doesn't play in North Devon where, for a lot of folk, it is absolutely normal and expected that…
  • Thanks bud, no wonder I couldn't find it in the laws.
  • Thanks all, just need chapter and verse where it says a call is made if it is removed from the bidding box with apparent intent. Can't be the laws, must be a coloured or non-coloured book? Obviously, if I had a few hours free, I could chase it up my…
  • I don't know why North said it showed spades. She'd lost interest when I asked her about it, she just said "well, we trust you, just make a ruling and we'll accept it". Now all I need is some Roald Dahl Tales of the Unexpected background music so I …
  • @Martin said: If this is a mechanical error, then it can be corrected, no? No. "Mechanical error" ONLY applies to the use of a bidding box.
  • It appears to have worked, many thanks. Roger