Martin

About

Username
Martin
Joined
Visits
2,078
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • @ais523 said "If the players don't know how their own call is anchored, that's a sign that they're playing an illegal agreement" Isn't this a sign that they don't have an agreement, rather than an illegal agreement? Or at least have not discus…
  • North knows that South think they have clubs, but knows he has diamonds. Had the alert happened, perhaps even explained as transfer to diamonds and then passed anyway them was can take South as 5 clubs and 2 diamonds. So if we have 3+ clubs and o…
    in UI Comment by Martin November 17
  • I think the point made was 2H strong - p - 4H -p P * opps from 4H bidder, we play weak 2s. The pass out seat knowing that 4H after a strong 2 is potentially very weak and certainly not strong can double yes? On the grounds that a misunders…
  • Mechanical error... the reason i stopped the bid was that i realised i picked up the wrong bid. i was actually going for 1 club. An under bid.... Withdraw the bid and replace with a pass Problem solved....
  • I had one with a supposed double or not some time ago. From what i found the player in question had tapped the table where his previous bids were in an effort to pass. Contract played and made and i was called to adjudicate. My question, who pa…
  • I only have experience of the Dealer 4 machine as our club has had one for a few years. Really impressive that it can use any standard cards without being limited to having bar codes. I have played at other clubs that have Duplimate dealers, as th…
  • I had something similar when I first started to play a bit more seriously. Declarer called for the 9 and I played my 10 only to find that he called for the Knave, not the 9! Cost me a trick. I had never heared the term Knave for a Jack before a…
  • @Frances said: the defender won the trick, said "I don't know what to play", shuffled her cards, and led a card at random which turned out to be the only winning card. I thought that this specifically outlawed? One is allowed to randomly c…
  • Well, I have now had chance to read the relevant rules specifically: 4 B 2 (a) - Double of a bid that shows the suit bid - Alert, unless the double is for take-out. There is an additional note: Doubles are also alertable if they convey a potential…
  • @Robin_BarkerTD Whilst I would agree with you here, it seems contrary to the answer given to this specific example in the county directors Q&A document linked to in another thread here... https://www.ebu.co.uk/documents/laws-and-ethics/td-tra…
  • I think it would depend... lets say revoke 1 happens at trick 5 and they won that trick revoke 2 happens at trick 9 and they didnt win that trick They won a later trick Lets say that defense only won 2 tricks, the revoke and 1 more (lets say tri…
  • By the logic of not scoring boards that players are not scheduled to play, why does that not apply to the original incorrect play of board 6? Pairs 5 & 10 were not scheduled to play that board on that round and certainly not against each other,…
  • Hi Tag, isn't saying 'hand', or leaving ones own hand on the table when declarer is in dummy the method by which dummy prevents the infraction of leading from the wrong hand? (Not that I do this, I use dummy as my time to relax and not pay attentio…
  • I think that it is this sort of rule (or interpretation of a rule) that puts people off competitive bridge. To give a crazy alternative - a 'pelican crossing' is there to stop people from crossing the road when they shouldn't. Can you imagine if t…
  • Also, as I mentioned before, he may well have missed the 2C bid, but had this been correctly alerted, he would not have done. Should that be taken into account? I think it should. There is no requirement in the law to ensure everyone has seen you…
    in Law 21b Comment by Martin May 14
  • Interestingly, if the alert took place in time, then East would not have missed the overcall?
    in Law 21b Comment by Martin May 10
  • I think that we start to get into stormy waters - away from the table we discuss options and agree that if the offender replaces bid x with bid y, then it is comparable. This happens and a query arises, either because their partner alerts and gives…
  • Even if they didnt "use" that system, then they have potentially benefited by knowing that they didnt have the hand type that would have used that illegal bid... how would we know without a detailed view of every previously bid hand?
  • I have a general agreement that any out of system bids are strong and forcing... so decisions would be many fold, including redouble.... bid a suit with and without jumps.... all based on my hand, but pass would not be logical using our system
  • I dont see this as non-natural though. 3C is game forcing and wants me to bid a 5 card major, 3D if I have 1/2 4 card majors and 3NT otherwise. Having said this, i do alert it sometimes, depending on the experience of my ops. 3C is alerted so ex…
  • I think he means he does that when he is dummy... so his partner (declarer) kinda has to look
  • interestingly, I was taught that asking for aces was not to tell if we are in 6 or not, but rather 6 or 7 (possibly in a suit or NT too). So, after 4NT, slam is inevitable... so logical alternatives would not apply for me as it should be using a pa…
  • Well, I play the 2D as a strict relay, even with a 7 card suit and 12 points! So, pass here would be strictly comparable. However, I have an agreement with one partner that a pass after an overcall shows 7 or fewer points, with a double showing 'v…
  • This is what i think... if the 2D bid a relay meaning nothing, then any bid now is comparable as it will be a subset of the meaning of the bid (something being more specific than anything). If 2D is a more traditional "nothing to say yet" bid (les…
  • Presumably the decisions of the NOS will impact the infraction/irregularity designation. For example a lead out of turn is an irregularity to start with, the NOS my accept the lead and as such this remains an irregularity. Should the lead not be a…
  • Isnt that giving UI to your partner that you had nothing to think about? IE switch suits...
  • So the only acceptable bridge reason is holding an honour? Am I missing something or if not what not just say this rather than a bridge reason? It seems to me that the best thing to do if you catch your self hesitatiting is to sit there doing not…
  • Seems to me that Stop 1NT is an irregularity as is is not fillowing standard bidding practice, but is not an infraction? An accepted underbid is an irregularity as it could allow a repeat of a previously made bid. So at that point there is no inf…
  • Is a bridge reason... thinking do I give count or attitude on declarers lead, a bridge reason when holding 2 small cards?
  • I think that it would be best to give 50-50 and a warning to follow the movement, as it would be overtly unfair to have 3 boards for NS compared with EW players in the room (and visa versa) in a 2 winner movement. If it was a 1 winner hesitation Mi…