Paske & Senior teams win at National Teams Congress

The teams captained by Tom Paske and Nevena Senior have won the Point-a-Board and Swiss events respectively at the National Teams Congress over the weekend of 16th/17th January.

The Point-a-Board event started with a qualifying round, and the Osborne team topped the table, with the top eight teams moving on to the final. There the team of Tom Paske, Simon Cope (both Middlesex), Richard Bowley (London) and Graeme Robertson (Beds) (pictured) scored 55 points to take the title, four points ahead of the team of Michael Byrne (Manchester), Kieran Dyke (London), Andrew Murphy (Berks & Bucks) and Ed Jones (Oxon) in second. The team of Jeremy Dhondy (Hants & IOW), Brian Callaghan, Ben Green (both London) and John Holland (Manchester) was third.

Those who did not qualify for the final of the Point-a-Board joined a Swiss Teams event which had started at the beginning of the congress. The winners and runners-up in this event came from those who had played in the event throughout, however, with the team of Nevena Senior (Middlesex), Geofrey Wolfarth, Ros Wolfarth (both Sussex) and Kiril Delev (London) (see picture here) taking the title. They won ten of their thirteen matches, and overtook the long time leaders - the team of Andrew Southwell, Richard Fedrick (both Sussex), Iain Roberts and Alan Oddie (both Beds) - in the final round. The Fedrick team finished second, with the Cowling team - who missed out on qualifying for the Point-a-Board finals - finishing third.

The Point-a-Board event is a competition in the Championship Series, contributing to the Player of the Year competition. Simon Cope's victory takes him to the top of standings, with Ben Green, John Holland and Justin Hackett moving in to a tie for second.