Allfrey team wins Schapiro Spring Fours

The team of Alexander Allfrey (Middlesex), Tony Forrester (Hereford), Andrew Robson, David Gold, Mike Bell and David Bakhshi (all London), has won the Schapiro Spring Foursomes. Two-thirds of the team are pictured receiving the trophy from Helen Schapiro who supports the event in memory of her late husband, the great Boris Schapiro.

The Allfrey team beat the Irish international 'Moran team' (Rory Boland, John Carroll, Tommy Garvey, Tom Hanlon, Hugh McGann, Mark Moran) in the final. Both teams had earlier in the day come through close semi-finals against the Gidman and Sinclair teams respectively.

The consolation events finished the previous day - see here for details.

Brian Senior contributed articles on some of the deals from different stages of the competition. His report on the final is available here - others are available to read via the results pages.

The event is part of the Championship Series counting towards the Player of the Year Competition. The Allfrey team all moved into positions 2 to 7 as a result of their victory, but Simon Cope is still atop the leaderboard, aided by the points he gained for reaching the semi-final with the Sinclair team.