The Corn Cairdis Match

Background to the match

 The Corn Cairdis match is an annual match between England and Ireland - or more specifically teams representing the English Bridge Union (EBU) and Contract Bridge Association of Ireland (CBAI). Three teams of four - representing the County, Club, and Officials elements of the organisations - from both national bodies compete to win the Corn Cairdis - the Cup of Friendship. The event stems from the withdrawal of the CBAI from the Camrose Trophy in 1951, and the subsequent efforts in the early 1990s to reintegrate an Irish team into the event. In 1993 an English team played a 'friendly' international match against an Irish team in Dublin (similar matches took place between Ireland and Scotland, and Ireland and Wales, in 1995 and 1996 respectively). These matches paved the way for the CBAI to rejoin the Camrose Trophy matches in 1998. Following the reintroduction of Ireland to the Camrose matches, the match between the EBU and CBAI continued. The Open, Women's and Seniors international teams, involved in the first match, no longer took part, but the unique aspect of involving club and county players, along with officials, in an 'international' event continued. The event was organised and funded by the EBU until 2009, and thereafter the English side of the event has been overseen by former EBU Chairman, Peter Stocken, and Philip Mason, President of Yorkshire Contract Bridge Association. The EBU no longer makes any financial contribution to the costs of the event. It has alternated between the two countries, though Ireland hosted it two years running in 2009 and 2010. In recent years, the West Midlands hosted the event in 2011, Yorkshire (Bradford) in 2013, Stamford BC in 2015, and Norfolk CBA in 2017. After the 2018 event, England had won 17 times, and Ireland 9 times.

2019 event

The 2019 event will take place at Basingstoke Bridge Club in Hampshire.

Recent competition reports

1993 match 
1994 match 
1995 match 
1996 match 
1997 match 
1998 match 
1999 match 
2000 match (in the Derbyshire news) 
2001 match 
2002 match 
2003 match 
2004 match 
2005 match 
2006 match (pictures)
2007 match (pictures)
2008 match (in the Norfolk news) 
2009 match (pictures
2010 match 
2011 match
2012 match (picture
2013 match 
2014 match 
2015 match (pictures)
The Times report 2016 match and scores (pictures)
2017 match 
2018 match