Camrose 2024 - Second weekend


The event will be held at the Best Western Cresta Court Hotel, Church St, Altrincham WA14 4DP - (google maps). 

The first weekend of the Camrose Trophy was hosted by the Welsh Bridge Union in Newport. As joint hosts England have two teams in the event, England Team and EBU Team.


Spectators are very welcome to attend, please see the Event programme for details. There will be a vugraph on RealBridge for kibitzing online.


Event Programme


Second Weekend Teams

England flag

 NPC: Peter Hasenson

Andrew Black

David Gold


Peter Crouch

Simon Cope


Tom Paske

Andrew McIntosh

CBAI logo

NPC: Gráinne Barton

Mark Moran

John Carroll


 Tom Hanlon

 Conor Boland


 Ciarán Coyne

 David Walsh

Northern Ireland 
NIBU logo

 NPC: Michael McFaul 

 Ian Hamilton

 Ian Lindsay


 David Greenwood 

 Rex Anderson


 Sam Hall

 Hastings Campbell

 SBU logo

 NPC: Alex Adamson

 Martin Bateman

 Callum McKail


 Assistant NPC: Robert Ferrari

 Paul Barton

 Jun Nakamaru-Pinder


 Brian Spears

 Barnet Shenkin

EBU logo

 NPC: Ceri Pierce

 Tony Ratcliff

Julian Pottage

 Julian Pottage


 Tim Rees

 John Salisbury


 Mia Deschepper

 Richard Plackett

EBU Team

EBU logo

 NPC: Paul Barden

Tim Leslie

Mike Bell


Stefano Tommasini 

Ben Norton


Sarah Bell



Friday 17:30 Buffet meal    
  19:00 - 21:10 Northern Ireland v Wales Scotland v Ireland England v EBU
  21:25 - 23:35 Northern Ireland v Wales Scotland v Ireland England v EBU
Saturday 10:00 - 12:10 Wales v Scotland Ireland v England EBU v Northern Ireland
  12:25 - 14:35 Wales v Scotland Ireland v England EBU v Northern Ireland
  15:20 - 17:30 Northern Ireland v Scotland EBU v Ireland Wales v England
  17:45 - 19:55 Northern Ireland v Scotland EBU v Ireland Wales v England
  20:30 Dinner    
Sunday 10:00 - 12:10 England v Northern Ireland Wales v Ireland Scotland v EBU
  12:25 - 14:35 England v Northern Ireland Wales v Ireland Scotland v EBU
  15:20 - 17:30 EBU v Wales Scotland v England Ireland v Northern Ireland
  17:45 - 19:55 EBU v Wales Scotland v England Ireland v Northern Ireland
  20:30 Dinner & Closing Ceremony    



Match Manager Alex Smalley
Director in Charge Sarah Amos
Tournament Director James Carpenter


EBU Vugraph Team

RealBridge Coordination Shireen Mohandes & Andy Bowles
Volunteers Alex Smalley, Barbara Lewis
Maggie Pierce, David McAndrew
Tracy Sherman, Phillip Taylor
Tom Slater, Michael Byrne
Gilbert Lee, Fly Leung, Alan Mould



The English Bridge Union is very grateful to everyone who has assisted in the staging of the event.

First weekend results

The EBU team finished the weekend in first place with a score of 69.13, and the England team finished in second place with 59.83 VPs. In third place were the Irish team with a score of 57.81.

England team for the first weekend were - John Atthey, Neil Rosen, Graham Osborne, Frances Hinden, Chris Jagger, Derek Patterson (NPC: David Burn) (pictured)

EBU team for the first weekend were - Maggie Knottenbelt, Michael Byrne, Ben Handley-Pritchard, Kieran Dyke, Tom Townsend (PC) (pictured)


The full regulations are available on the Bridge Great Britain website.

Event history

From the BGB website The Home Bridge Internationals for England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (then called the Irish Free State) was launched in 1937. Lord Camrose, at that time proprietor of the Daily Telegraph, donated the trophy in 1938. The original trophy has been lost, but a replacement is competed for annually. The 1939 series was not completed due to war. The Camrose re-started in 1946. The 2016 series was the 73rd which makes the Camrose the most-played international bridge series in the world, for the European Championships that began in 1932 has recently only been played in alternate years. The South of Ireland dropped out in 1951 but re-joined as the Republic of Ireland in December 1998. The format from then until 2005 was head-to-head matches played over five weekends, with a different country sitting out each weekend, as in the former Five Nations Rugby. Each weekend was divided into three stanzas of 30 boards victory-pointed separately. From January 2005 the format was changed to match the Lady Milne but over two weekends. All five countries met at the same venue playing a full round robin each weekend with two matches in play at a time and one country sitting out each stanza. The Republic of Ireland won under the new format in both 2005 and 2006. The sit-out combined with six-player teams meant some players sat out half the weekend and led to calls for a sixth team to be added. This was done for the first time in January 2007. The sixth team was called “The holders” which meant the Federation winning in 2006 fielded two teams in 2007. The holders (by chance, the same six players who represented Republic of Ireland throughout 2006) won again for the Republic of Ireland. So the Republic again fielded two teams in 2008. This time the trophy went to England who thereby would have two teams in 2009, when by chance England was host for the second weekend. The idea for the sixth team was changed to be “the host for the second weekend fields two teams on both weekends”. One team is called by the name of the country and the other by the name of the Federation (e.g. England and EBU). As the right to have two horses in the race would rotate round the countries in a five-year cycle both could be given the right to win the trophy for their Federation. And, in 2009, it was the EBU team that won the trophy. In 2011 Wales fielded two teams and it was the “A” team called Wales that won the trophy for the first time for the Principality. The totals over 73 years are as follows:

  • England has won the trophy 51 times (of which one was its second team, EBU, in 2009) most recently in 2016
  • Scotland has won 12 times (most recently in 1998)
  • England and Scotland have drawn three times (in 1961, 1972 and 1973)
  • The Republic of Ireland has won 6 times (most recently in 2015)
  • Wales has won once (in 2011)
  • Northern Ireland has yet to win the trophy.

The Camrose Trophy is awarded to the country with the most victory points over the 10 matches played. All head-to-head encounters have their own individual trophy. Where a country is fielding two teams it is the aggregate score over the four matches (two each weekend) that determines the trophy winner.