2019 Camrose Trophy - 1st Weekend Results

The EBU sit atop the table after the first weekend of the Camrose Trophy, the competition between the teams of the 'home nations'.

On a tightly contested weekend in North Wales, the EBU finished 7.1 VPs ahead of the England team and 10.43 VPs ahead of hosts Wales.

Congratulations to the EBU team (pictured Left to right: Peter Hasenson (NPC), Gerald Tredinnick, Gunnar Hallberg, Derek Patterson, Andrew McIntosh, Andrew Black, Phil King).

Well done also to the England team: Janet de Botton & Artur Malinowski; Espen Erichsen & Glyn Liggins; Tom Townsend & David Bakhshi; NPC Alan Mould.

The final weekend takes place in Coventry, England, 1st-3rd March.

For full details of all results, visit Bridge Great Britain

Maurice Esterson

We are sad to announce the death of Maurice Esterson, aged 89.

Maurice won the Gold Cup twice in 1972 & 1974, Crockfords Cup twice in 1971 & 1977, Eastbourne Bowl in 1979, Burlington Cup in 1972, the Lederer in 1969 and the National Pairs in 1968.

He played three times for England in the Camrose, winning against Northern Ireland in 1968 and Wales in 1970 and drawing with Scotland in 1974.


Subscribe to English Bridge Union RSS